Connect with us


Ballon d’Or Announces Female Version And Under 21 Awards



Ballon d’Or organisers France Football have announced the creation of awards for the top female footballer and the best under-21 player in the world.

A women’s Ballon d’Or will be awarded for the first time this year with a shortlist of 15 nominees to be named alongside 30 male contenders next month for the global football prize, France Football magazine announced on Monday.

The annual award, which will be given at this year’s ceremony in Paris on December 8, is a regular feature for men since 1956, with England great Stanley Matthews winning the inaugural trophy.

“It is a step forward, women’s football is evolving and inequality is shrinking even though there is still room for improvement,” France and Olympique Lyonnais defender Wendie Renard told the magazine.

“I’ve always wanted to see a woman win this prestigious award,” Brazil’s Marta added.

The Ballon d’Or award partnered with FIFA from 2010 to 2015, but it’s a separate entity now.

The sport’s world governing body will honour the world’s best players at its Best FIFA Football Awards on Monday.

American Carli Lloyd and Lieke Martens from the Netherlands have won the FIFA best player award for women since it was rebranded in 2016.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: