Connect with us


Governor Lalong Creates 6 New Ministries In Plateau State




Governor Simon Lalong of Plateau state has announced the creation of six new ministries to the 17 ministries in the state, bringing the total number to 23.

The Secretary to the Government of Plateau, Rufus Bature, announced the creation of the new ministries in a statement issued on Saturday, February 24, 2018.

It is understood that five of the ministries were carved out from the existing ones.

Bature disclosed that a Ministry of Transport has been carved out from the Ministry of Works and Transport.

His words: “Ministry of Mineral Development is to be excised from the Ministry of Environment and Mineral Development.

“The Ministry of Physical Planning and Urban Development has been carved out of the present Ministry of Housing and Urban Development.

“A Ministry of Economic Planning has been created out of Ministry of Finance and Economic Planning and State Planning Commission.”

According to the statement, a Ministry of Science and Technology has been created out of the present Ministry of Education, Science and Technology.

Also, an entirely new Ministry of Special Duties and Inter-Governmental Affairs has also created.

Bature said that the new ministries will take off immediately.

It would be recalled that before the creation of the ministries,  Gov Lalong had submitted a list of 23 Commissioner nominees to the Plateau House of Assembly for approval instead of the 17 nominees he submitted in 2015.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: