Connect with us


Liverpool Stars Salah, Mane lead nominees for 2018 BBC African Footballer of the Year



Liverpool stars Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane led three others in the nominees’ list for the 2018 BBC African Footballer of the Year.
Nigeria had a representative Victor Moses in the last edition but are without one as Salah and Mana are the leading contenders for the award. Salah won it the award in 2017.

The shortlist, which has been compiled by a panel of African football experts also comprises Medhi Benatia of Morocco, Senegal international Kalidou Koulibaly and Ghana’s Thomas Partey.

Nigeria has not had a winner in this award for 14 years after Austin Jay Jay Okocha won it in 2004. Nigeria has won it five times with three players; Emmanuel Amuneke in 1996, Kanu Nwankwo in 1997 and 1999 and Okocha in 2003 and 2004.

The vote opened at 7 pm GMT on Saturday, November 17 and is set to close on Sunday, December 2, with the results due be announced on Friday, December 14.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: