Connect with us


Senate Rejects Buhari’s CBN Nominee, Confirms 4 Others



The Senate on Thursday, May 31, confirmed four non-executive directors for the board of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), rejecting one.

The confirmed nominees are Ummu Jalingo, Justitia Odinakachukwu, Mike Obadan and Adeola Adetunji.

The lawmakers at the upper chamber of the National Assembly, however, rejected Abdu Abubakar, as senators who screened him said they were dissatisfied with his responses to their questions.

The nominees were confirmed after Rafiu Ibrahim, chairman of the senate committee on banking, presented a report.

According to Ibrahim, Abdu Abubakar, the unconfirmed nominee, failed the committee’s integrity test.

“That four out of the five nominees, professor Ummu Jalingo, Justitia Odinakachukwu Nnabuko, Mike Obadan and Adeola Adetunji are very resourceful, diligent, articulate, competent and have the needed value for the central bank and they answered questions satisfactorily,” he said.

“The nominees have vast knowledge of the CBN act. They have been cleared by CCB and relevant security agency.

“One of the nominees, Dr Abdu Abubakar, failed the integrity test designed by the committee to assess, his response to questions lacked transparency and not worthy to appointed into a regulatory agency by the CBN.”

After the presentation of the report by Mr Ibrahim, the deputy senate president, Ike Ekweremadu said the issues surrounding the non-confirmation of Mr Abubakar should be revisited by the committee.

Thereafter, Senate President, Bukola Saraki, directed the committee to “look into Mr Abubakar’s record, do more legislative work and report back.”

It would be recalled that President Muhammadu Buhari had sent five names to the senate in April 2017.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: