Connect with us


UEFA Champions League announce nominees for 2019/20 awards



The Champions League have announced the nominees for their 2019/20 positional awards.

It should be little surprise to see Bayern Munich dominate the nominations, with seven of the 12 players shortlisted winning the competition last season.

Likewise, Lyon dominate the nominees on the women’s side of the competition.

The winners will be announced on 1 October, when the 2020/21 group stage draw takes place.

Men’s Champions League 2019/20 nominees

Goalkeepers: Keylor Navas (Paris Saint-Germain), Manuel Neuer (Bayern), Jan Oblak (Atlético de Madrid)

Defenders: David Alaba (Bayern), Alphonso Davies (Bayern), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern)

Midfielders: Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Thomas Müller (Bayern), Thiago Alcántara (Bayern)

Forwards: Robert Lewandowski (Bayern), Kylian Mbappé (Paris Saint-Germain), Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain)

Women’s Champions League 2019/20 nominees

Goalkeepers: Sarah Bouhaddi (Lyon), Christiane Endler (Paris Saint-Germain), Sandra Paños (Barcelona)

Defenders: Lucy Bronze (Lyon), Lena Goessling (Wolfsburg), Wendie Renard (Lyon)

Midfielders: Sara Björk Gunnarsdóttir (Lyon/Wolfsburg), Dzsenifer Marozsán (Lyon), Alex Popp (Wolfsburg)

Forwards: Delphine Cascarino (Lyon), Pernille Harder (Wolfsburg), Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: