Connect with us


UEFA Reveals Nominees for 2018 Men’s Player of the Year Awards



The Union of European Football Associations, UEFA, on Monday announced the names of the three nominees shortlisted for the 2017/18 UEFA Men’s Player of the Year Awards.


UEFA made the announcement through their official website.

The players were selected by a jury composed of 80 coaches of the clubs which participated in the group stages of the 2017/18 UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League, together with 55 journalists selected by the European Sports Media (ESM) group, representing each of UEFA’s member associations.

The final result was based on the total number of votes cast by the coaches and the journalists. The coaches were not allowed to vote for players from their own team.

The three players who received the most points overall following the conclusion of the voting, in alphabetical order, are: Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal – Real Madrid CF, now at Juventus), Mohamed Salah (Egypt – Liverpool FC) and Luka Modrić (Croatia – Real Madrid CF).

The accolades will be presented at the 2018/19 UEFA Champions League group stage draw ceremony, which will take place in Monaco on Thursday 30 August.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: