Connect with us


Victor Lindelof Wins Sweden’s Footballer Of The Year



Victor Lindelof has been named Sweden’s Footballer of the year, with 10-time winner Zlatan Ibrahimovic missing out on the award for the second year running.


Lindelof was awarded the Golden Ball trophy during a ceremony in Stockholm on Monday evening after helping Sweden reach the World Cup quarterfinals

It’s the second year in a row that the player-of-the-year award goes to a centre-back, with Andreas Granqvist winning in 2017, ending a run of Ibrahimovic winning 10 times in succession.

“It means a lot to me, I’m incredibly proud,” Lindelof told newspaper Aftonbladet, which awards the prize. “It’s an award that I grew up with and watched on TV when Zlatan stood there year after year. It’s huge, and it’s still hard to comprehend.



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


%d bloggers like this: